Best Idea Ever, dance, playlist, rainy days

Best Idea Ever, Vol. 4: Dance yourselves happy.

Once upon a time, it was a dreary, gray February day. Everyone here was in a dreadful mood. Two of my three children awoke in this state. The third child skipped her morning nap and then joined the other two in their funk. I tried to fight it – I got everyone outside to the track so SuperSam could ride his bike (which he then refused to do). I made their current favorite (peanut butter on toasted English muffins with fruit) for lunch, and SuperSam threw it on the floor. Despite my best efforts, I absorbed the darkness from them, and instead of taking action to change the climate in the house, I sank into the funk…at least until after nap time, when I decided it was time to do something about it.

Nothing like some 1950’s doo-wop to cure a case of the mid-February grumpies, right?

SuperSam and I had created a Spotify playlist a while back with our (okay, mostly his) favorites from the 50s. (Some of the songs I suggested were “too slow.”) After some fun conversation about Phil Spector and the wall of sound and how Elvis Presley looks exactly like this certain dinosaur from PBS Kids’ series Dinosaur Train, I persuaded SuperSam to get up and dance. He did it for only a minute and then left to play with his Celestial Buddies…but Nora was hooked. She wiggled and bopped and shook her head and waved her arms, and she let me know in no uncertain terms that Lollipop by the Chordettes is her new favorite song. (“Pop. Ah-dinnn.“)

Nora and Saturn…”1-2-3-kick, 1-2-3-jump!”

How can you argue with that?

So this afternoon, we put on the music and had a dance party. Here is our playlist, if you’d like to listen along. If you don’t have Spotify on your computer, you’ll need to install it (but it’s free and easy to do). Enjoy.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.